The newest club in the worldwide institution of Lions International was unveiled at The Griffin in Newquay on Thurs 11 December 2008.
Newquay Towan Blysta Lions Club has been formed by over twenty new and transfering members in order to serve community needs and fundraise in Newquay and the surrounding areas.

They were officially welcomed into Lions Club International by the District Governor, Graham Lang.

Members were presented with their certificates and badges at an evening attended by fellow Lions Club International members from other clubs in the area.

The newly elected club President Heather Stanley thanked the other local clubs for their support and said “with Newquay town centre already benefitting from the wonderful work undertaken by Newquay Lions, the new Towan Blystra Club will be concentrating their efforts on the communities surrounding Newquay.

“We want to reach out to them and give support in any way we can and if anyone feels that we can be of assistance to them in any way, please do contact us.

“We are ready and waiting to start and are looking forward to our first official task of Santa Sleigh during next week where we will be covering St Columb Major on Tuesday 16 Dec Quintrell Downs and Shackleton Drive on Wednesday 17 and Indian Queens and St Columb Road on Thursday 18.

Pictured are (top left) Lewis Bartrip-Kay, David Brock, Danny Baize, Phil Bunt, Jill Bunt, Mary Hamilton, Hilary Smith, Steven Gregory, Andy Hannan, Barbara Hannan, Dear Hancock, Patrick Stanley, Ann Ransley, Colin Ransley, Matt Bunt, (bottom left) Lynn Bartrip-Kay, Lesley Clarke, District Governor Graham Lang, Heather Stanley, Roy Hohlweg, Jean Crowle. Not in the photo for this first meeting was former District Governor and former President of Newquay Lions, Ken Clarke, who was recovering from a recent medical setback. It was Ken’s knowledge of Lionism and reflection of existing Lions members views that there was room for two Lions clubs in Newquay that led to Newquay Towan Blystra Lions becoming established.


Heather and Patrick Stanley


Hilary Smith


Jill Bunt


Lesley Clarke


Lewis Bartrip-Kay


Lynn Bartrip-Kay


Mary Hamilton


Matt Bunt


Patrick Stanley


Phil Bunt


Roman ‘Roy’ Hohlweg


Steven Gregory


Andy Hannan


Ann Ransley


Barbara Hannan


David Brock


Colin Ransley


Danny Baize


Darren Hancock